Until today there was no escape if you wanted to delete a conversation or any element of the chat “for everyone” and instead you had accidentally tapped on “just for me”but WhatsApp has introduced a request undo/cancel function which brings the item back into the chat and then makes it erasable for everyone. Or to keep it, in case you had second thoughts: in any case you will have five seconds after which the action will become irreversible.
The useful news was communicated by Will Cathcart or the manager of WhatsApp in Meta with a tweet on Twitter (see below) in which he also shows how the cancellation function will look graphically: when you tap on “cancel for me” a temporary window will appear which informs of the cancellation and on the right there will be the clickable Cancel button. The option will gradually spread globally, so if it doesn’t appear immediately, a little patience may be needed, it is certainly better as usual to always keep the application updated on both iPhone and Android.
This content can also be viewed on the site it originates from.
The function is very useful if you need to deleting an element in some inconvenient way but for the moment it only works with the “for me” option while you still can’t go back if you cancel the “for everyone” option. And who knows if WhatsApp will listen to the requests of users who are clamoring (even under the communication of this novelty on Twitter) to remove the message deletion notification that is sent to the recipient when the sender decides to delete it.
Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!