Hit Korean drama Squid Game has officially added eight new cast members for its upcoming second season on Netflix.

Who is in Squid Game Season 2?

Netflix announced that the actors rounding out the cast of Squid Game Season 2 are Park Gyu-young (Sweet Home, Celebrity), former Iz*One member Jo Yu-ri, Kang Ae-sim (Be Melodramatic, Move to Heaven), Lee David (The Fortress), Lee Jin-uk (Sweet Home, Miss Granny), Choi Seung-hyun (Tazza: The Hidden Card, Commitment), Roh Jae-won (Missing Yoon, Ditto), and Won Ji-an (D.P.).

These eight newcomers join previously announced Season 2 actors Yim Si-wan, Kang Ha-neul, Park Sung-hoon, and Yang Dong-geun, as well as returning Season 1 actors Lee Jung-jae, Lee Byung-hun, Wi Ha-jun, and Gong Yoo.

“This week, cast members and showrunners gathered for their first table read, with the production of Squid Game Season 2 starting later this year,” Netflix revealed. “From rising stars to veteran actors, the ensemble cast boasts a diverse range of talent and experiences. Director Hwang Dong-hyuk, who won an Emmy for the first season, will return to direct and executive produce the entire second season.”

Created by Hwang, Squid Game premiered on Netflix in September 2021. The survival drama became an overnight sensation, securing the title of Netflix’s most-watched original series of all time (by a comfortable distance).

Squid Game centers on the indebted contestants of a twisted competition where players partake in various children’s games. The twist is that losing means death. The last player standing wins a cash prize of ₩45.6 billion KRW (approximately $34.69 million USD at the time of writing). Netflix renewed the series for Season 2 in January 2022. As previously mentioned, the new installment will enter production this year.

Squid Game Season 1 is currently streaming on Netflix. Season 2 does not yet have a premiere date.


Source link

(This article is generated through syndicated feeds, Financetin doesn’t own any part of this content)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *